NFL Dallas Cowboys

2018 Dallas Cowboys NFL Betting

The Dallas Cowboys are a team in transition entering the 2018 campaign. Jason Witten retired and Dez Bryant was let go, leaving the Boys thin in the pass-catching department, and that’s taken a toll on their odds. They are behind the defending champion Eagles to win their division and in the middle of the pack to come out of a strong NFC. However, with an entire season from Ezekiel Elliott and another year of development for Dak Prescott, Dallas should be able to find some offense. But will their D be able to slow down some of the high-flying teams in the NFL?

Text content

2018 Dallas Cowboys at a Glance

NFL Odds from * See our Review of

Cowboys Super Bowl Odds: +3409

Cowboys NFC Championship Odds: +1800

Cowboys NFC East Odds: +350

Cowboys Regular Season Win Total: 8.5

Prescott was exposed when Zeke was lost for six games due to a suspension. The offense faltered during that stretch and it cost Dallas a chance at returning to the postseason. The Boys scored just 22 points during a three-game losing streak immediately following Zeke’s suspension and that took them out of the running. They rallied to win four of their last five games to end at 9-7, their first back-to-back winning campaigns under Jason Garrett.

With Witten gone, Prescott is now the leader of the offense. And the passing game could be better without the mercurial Bryant. Witten and Bryant combined for nearly 43 percent of the team’s receptions last season, so that production will need to be replaced. The addition of Allen Hurns made the Bryant departure easier to deal with. Hurns had a splendid season in Jacksonville in 2015 with over 1,000 receiving yards and 10 touchdowns, however he’s been hampered by injuries the last two years.

But the key to the offense is Elliott, and with a full season we could expect numbers we saw in his rookie campaign. Dallas went 13-3 in 2016 with their all-rookie backfield. Zeke ran for 1,631 yards and 20 touchdowns, allowing Dak to manage the game. Elliott nearly averaged 100 yards per game rushing last season, but his six-game suspension was costly. The Boys are 19-6 in the 25 games he’s played, and behind one of the better lines in the game, Elliott should be able to pound the ball. There are concerns on defense, though. Demarcus Lawrence is a stud and Sean Lee is the anchor when healthy. The secondary is weak and the Boys are still pursuing Earl Thomas to help in that area.

2018 Dallas Cowboys Schedule

Week 1: Cowboys at Carolina Panthers, Sunday, Sep. 9, 4:25 p.m. ET (FOX)

Week 2: Cowboys vs. New York Giants, Sunday, Sep. 16, 8:20 p.m. ET (NBC)

Week 3: Cowboys at Seattle Seahawks, Sunday, Sep. 23, 4:25 p.m. ET (FOX)

Week 4: Cowboys vs. Detroit Lions, Sunday, Sep. 30, 1 p.m. ET (FOX)

Week 5: Cowboys at Houston Texans, Sunday, Oct. 7, 8:20 p.m. ET (NBC)

Week 6: Cowboys vs. Jacksonville Jaguars, Sunday, Oct. 14, 4:25 p.m. ET (CBS)

Week 7: Cowboys at Washington Redskins, Sunday, Oct. 21, 4:25 p.m. ET (CBS)

Week 8: BYE

Week 9: Cowboys vs. Tennessee Titans, Monday, Nov. 5, 8:15 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Week 10: Cowboys at Philadelphia Eagles, Sunday, Nov. 11, 8:20 p.m. ET (NBC)

Week 11: Cowboys at Atlanta Falcons, Sunday, Nov. 18, 1 p.m. ET (FOX)

Week 12: Cowboys vs. Washington Redskins, Thursday, Nov. 22, 4:30 p.m. ET (FOX)

Week 13: Cowboys vs. New Orleans Saints, Thursday, Nov. 29, 8:20 p.m. ET (FOX/NFLN)

Week 14: Cowboys vs. Philadelphia Eagles, Sunday, Dec. 9, 4:25 p.m. ET (FOX)

Week 15: Cowboys at Indianapolis Colts, Sunday, Dec. 16, 1 p.m. ET (FOX)

Week 16: Cowboys vs. Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Sunday, Dec. 23, 1 p.m. ET (FOX)

Week 17: Cowboys at New York Giants, Sunday, Dec. 30, 1 p.m. ET (FOX)

Dallas Cowboys History

The Cowboys entered the NFL as an expansion team for the 1960 season, playing alongside the AFL’s Dallas Texans, who also began play that year. By 1963 the Cowboys would be the only game in town after the Texans relocated to Kansas City. The team failed to win a game in its inaugural season posting a 0-11-1 record, but legendary coach Tom Landry was building a dynasty that took off in 1966. The Cowboys went 10-3-1 that season, losing to the Packers in the NFL Championship, but it started a run of 20 consecutive winning seasons in which they missed the postseason only twice.

During the decade of the 1970s, the Cowboys won a NFL-high 105 regular season games and advanced to the Super Bowl five times. They claimed their first title following the 1971 season, a year after dropping their first Super Bowl game on a last-second Baltimore field goal. The Boys reached the Big Game three times in four seasons later in the decade, taking their second title to complete the 1977 season.

The streak of winning seasons ended in 1986 when Dallas went 7-9. They won just three games the next season and Landry was fired by new owner Jerry Jones. The team’s next successful run began in 1991. With the Big Three of Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith and Michael Irvin, the Boys went 70-26 over the next six years, winning three Super Bowls in a four-year span. They haven’t been back to the Super Bowl since the 1995 season, but their five wins and eight appearances are the second-most in NFL annals.

201613-3Lost Divisional Round
201412-4Lost Divisional Round
200911-5Lost Divisional Round
200713-3Lost Divisional Round
20069-7Lost Wild Card Round
200310-6Lost Wild Card Round
19998-8Lost Wild Card Round
199810-6Lost Wild Card Round
199610-6Lost Divisional Round
199512-4Won Super Bowl
199412-4Lost Conference Championship
199312-4Won Super Bowl
199213-3Won Super Bowl
199111-5Lost Divisional Round
198510-6Lost Divisional Round
198312-4Lost Wild Card Round
19826-3Lost Conference Championship
198112-4Lost Conference Championship
198012-4Lost Conference Championship
197911-5Lost Divisional Round
197812-4Lost Super Bowl
197712-2Won Super Bowl
197611-3Lost Divisional Round
197510-4Lost Super Bowl
197310-4Lost Conference Championship
197210-4Lost Conference Championship
197111-3Won Super Bowl
197010-4Lost Super Bowl
196911-2-1Lost Divisional Round
196812-2Lost Divisional Round
19679-5Lost NFL Championship
196610-3-1Lost NFL Championship